A post in which I express walnut skepticism

What is the worth of these here nuts? Will they prove to have meaty guts?

What is the worth of these here nuts? Will they prove to have meaty guts?

I am part squirrel and part suburbia. W. and I found walnuts, which is not hard to do in these parts about now, and we filled a pannier with them. They have a lovely citrusy smell. But the suburban me is not convinced.

Scientific Query. Are street walnuts (I can’t say they’re wild) any better than the ones from Costco?

Hypothesis: They are the same, but wimpier and more difficult to extract.

Perhaps, you say, I should try them before shooting my mouth off. But it will be another TWO WEEKS while we wait for them to dry out. Judging first takes the pressure off.

Prove me wrong, Mr. Nut.

4 responses to “A post in which I express walnut skepticism

  1. Oh, longer than that. You need to dry them, crack them, dry them again so the meat pulls away from the shell, pick the meat out and dry that. A total pain, but that’s what winter is for.

  2. Feel free to come over to my house in a few months, then.

    Since I’ve already written them off, it’ll be a bonus if they turn out to be good a few months down the road. Like pants-pocket windfalls.

  3. “Written them off”? Outrage!

    But have you noticed the white mold-like something on the drying nuts? I wonder if we need to dry them somewhere… drier?

Leave a Reply

