Madison maple owners, lend me your sap

Frozen at night, slush during the day. This recent weather in Madison has made for some sloppy commutes, but on the bright side I’m hoping it’ll soon be time to make maple syrup. With help from the many guides on the tubes, and from the turkey fryer W. purchased just for this purpose. This is really his baby, but I’m the one with the blog.

The numbers are a bit daunting. It takes 43 gallons of sap to make a gallon of syrup. You might get a gallon of sap a day when the stuff is flowing. So I’ll need a few trees.

Willy Street is lined with maple trees … but I don’t know what kind they are. I’m going to have to look into whether I can get permission to tap city trees. Do tell me, if you happen to be an expert on city ordinances.

Ideally, somebody reading this has one or more trees that are:

• sugar maples (If you aren’t sure which kind you have, this guide might help; also, this picture of the bark)
• on the Isthmus, downtown or near UW-Madison
• next to each other
• at least 1.5 feet wide, with healthy crowns (perhaps hard to tell during the winter)
• well exposed to the sun
• owned by someone who doesn’t mind if I drill a hole in it and redirect a few gallons of sap.

Got trees? Send me tips at madisonforager@gmail.com. There’s some sweet, sweet syrup in it for you if it works out.

Leave a Reply

